Grown-up grilled cheese.

I remember being in the bread aisle as a kid and trying to persuade my mother to go for a loaf of white bread rather than the usual multi-grain Oatnut bread. Someone please explain to me what it is about dry, plain white bread that is so exciting to children? Maybe it was the fun multi-colored dots that the Wonderbread team strategically covered their loaves in.

As my taste buds have matured, I have really come to enjoy a good piece of bread to surround my sandwich fillings. And while there is something to be said about the classic, childhood-reminiscent combo of American cheese and whitebread, I prefer to look for something more to fill my grilled cheeses with these days.

Enter beer bread, cheddar, tomato, and baby spinach.

I know what you’re thinking. And YUM is right.

I know what I am thinking. I wish I had a better backdrop for taking glamor pictures of dinner. Ah, well.

But really, this was delicious. The bread could have been sliced a little thinner to allow for better cheese melting, but the grill master did its job alright.

By the way, mister Webb and I have a love-hate relationship with our mock-barbeque. We love it for the time period after our meal and before we have started trying to scrub the grease off of it. Ew.

Beer bread is super easy to make, and you can actually taste the beer in it! It’s a quick bread in that it requires no rising time, but it still tastes yeasty instead of sweet like most quickbreads are. Plus… cooking with beer makes me feel grown-up!

Check out the original recipe for bread here.

Happy grilled-cheesing!

One thought on “Grown-up grilled cheese.

Leave a Reply

