Pumpkin-spice-latte cheesecake POPS!

Yes, I work at Starbucks. I believe that this is the second time it has come up in the space of 5 or 6 blog posts? Anywho, I love me some pumpkin spice. Last year, I found a recipe for pumpkin spice cheesecake, which I loved so much that I made twice in the same season. (Mind you, I had help… I lived with 5 girls, and the second cheesecake I baked joined the pie table at family Thanksgiving)

This year, continuing in the spirit of using up leftovers, I had leftover plain cheesecake batter and decided to add a little bit of pumpkin puree, spices, and instant coffee granules to it to give it that pumpkin spice kick.

Where is the cheesecake, you say?!

If you haven’t heard of the food-on-a-stick trend yet, let me be the first to inform you: food on a stick is FUN! Especially when it is in lollipop form and transports you back to childhood at first bite.

The process for making cheesecake pops is actually quite time-consuming, but allows for limitless creativity. I actually baked my made-over cheesecake leftovers in a bread pan, since I only had a few cups. Since the next step is simply to scoop out melon-ball rounds of cheesecake, the shape the cheesecake has baked in doesn’t matter. The scooped-out cheesecake is dropped onto a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper for easy release and put into the freezer until firm.

This is where you can get creative… I used up the ends of bags of melting chocolates I had left over from my wedding favors. Frozen cheesecake balls are dipped/rolled in melted chocolate (after you stab them with some sort of lolly stick…) and then put back in the freezer until firm. I rolled some of mine in chopped walnuts, and I’m sure that you could get really crafty and use all sorts of sprinkles and candies.

The sad story behind these beauties, as you may be able to see, is that I left them uncovered in the freezer for several weeks and they endured a little bit of freezer burn. I had planned on taking them to a meeting that got cancelled… the trash can was ultimately their sad fate.

I try and use everything that I make and everything that I buy, but the problem is that sometimes I enjoy making and baking treats like these more than eating them.

Leave a Reply

