Cranberry-apple pie with streusel topping.

Best pie ever…

Being held lovingly by (and soon to be devoured by) the best husband ever.

(I wish you could see his shirt. There is a duck on it, with its shadow being cast in the background like a duck shadow puppet… so witty!)

All that to say- I am officially in love with cranberries. I’ve always been a fan of the punch-you-in-the-mouth-they’re-so-sweet dried ones, but I bought my first bag of fresh cranberries this fall. I’m sure that I will be buying more before they go out of season.

Apple pie on its own never fails, but adding cranberries really gave the pie some extra oomph for me. The apples are sweet and spicy with the addition of cinnamon, nutmeg, and a dash of ginger. The cranberries are tart and therefore make for a wonderful complementary flavor.

Inspired by this recipe, I cut it down a little to fit into my regular pie pan, and replaced the top crust for a streusel topping.

Do you like streusel? Have you ever eaten just the streusel topping off of a muffin, only to leave the rest of it untouched and waiting for someone else to eat its ugly, bald, streusel-less self?

…will neither confirm nor deny that I have done such a thing.

2 thoughts on “Cranberry-apple pie with streusel topping.

  1. THis looks delicious!

    Thanks for the comment on my cranberry apricot bread. To answer your question, it has the texture of pumpkin bread. Like a sweet tender muffin baked in a loaf pan.

    Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

