Turkey Noodle Soup.

‘Twas three days after Turkey Day, and all through the fridge

Not a leftover to be seen, not even a smidge

But wait! What is this? All wrapped up in foil?

A big ol’ heap of turkey bones for me to boil!

So I set a pot on the stove, and took out my cleaver

Chopped up some veggies (this couldn’t be easier)

Two hours later, as if in a dream

My kitchen was filled with the most alluring steam

With a bowl in my hand, I’m happy to say

I will be putting off that grocery trip for at least one more day.

Turkey Noodle Soup

For the Stock:

  • turkey carcass from turkey (mine was from a 12 pound turkey… reserve any meat still clinging to bones for soup at the end)
  • 2 carrots, chopped into 2 inch pieces
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped into 2 inch pieces
  • one large onion, quartered with skin left on
  • large handful of parsley
  • dash of pepper
  1. Add everything to a large stock pot. Fill the pot with water to where the water is covering everything by at least one inch. Bring to a boil, and then reduce to a simmer for two to two 1/2 hours. Skim the fat off the top of the stock every half hour if desired. I did not, but mine turned out a little bit cloudy because of it. Still tastes amazing.
  2. Strain the stock and discard the bones and veggies. You may also strip more meat off the bones at this time if you’d like to add it to your soup: I did not. I think it gets too soft after boiling for two hours.

For the Soup:

  • turkey stock
  • leftover turkey meat, shredded
  • 1 large carrot, cut into coins
  • 1 bunch of dino kale, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 cup dry macaroni, or other small-noodle pasta
  • 1/2 cup + 2 T leftover turkey gravy, if you have it
  • dash salt
  1. Boil your noodles per package directions. Drain and set aside.
  2. Put the carrots and kale into a sautee pan, and add a 1/4 cup of water (if using gravy, mix 2T of water with 2T gravy instead). Mix the veggies around in the pan, making sure they are all uniformly wet.
  3. Turn the heat to medium-high and steam until the carrots are fork-tender. Add a dash of salt to taste.
  4. Add your turkey meat, steamed veggies, frozen peas, cooked macaroni, and gravy to a 2.5 quart pot. (If you have a LOT of turkey meat leftover, ie more than what was left on the bones, feel free to use a larger pot and make more soup.) Add hot stock to the pot until the soup is at a consistency you like. I like my soup to have more “stuff” and less liquid, so I just covered the top of my “stuff” by an inch.
  5. Freeze the extra stock and reserve for another pot of soup… or whatever.

I hope you enjoy your turkey soup as much as I did! The beauty of soup is that you can play around with the additions, the amount of liquid, and the seasonings. I love mine exactly as I wrote it down, but I encourage you to make yours your perfect bowl of fall comfort.

Bon appetit, mes amis!

5 thoughts on “Turkey Noodle Soup.

Leave a Reply

