Ina Garten’s Maple Oat Scones

mapleoatsconesDo heart-shaped baked goods make your heart as happy as they make mine? In my book, it doesn’t even have to be February to bust out the heart-shaped cookie cutter and go to town! A delicious recipe and a loved one to share it with is reason enough for me.

My love for Ina Garten and her style of cooking began back in college, when I had five roommates and one television. Most of the time, majority ruled and the TV was dominated by Sixteen and Pregnant, Gossip Girls, Days of Our Lives, and other shows that I didn’t care for. Once in a while, I would somehow gain access to the remote control for a minute and flip it to the Food Network- naturally, my station of choice. We were a silly bunch of girls that liked to laugh, and when I got my roommates to watch with me, it was 75% poking fun at the cheesy celebrity chefs, and 25% drooling over the recipes. I secretly loved every minute of watching the ease at which these chefs seemed to talk about and execute their craft. Ina Garten, in particular, conveyed a true understanding of what it meant to love both people and food with her incredibly simple and comforting yet stunningly elegant dishes.

I feel like these scones are the embodiment of her cooking style: made with simple ingredients, invoke feelings of love and comfort at first bite, and styled beautifully enough for a photo shoot. While the butter inside these would not allow me to call these a healthy breakfast, they are laced with whole wheat flour and oats to give you a bit of lasting power until lunch. Paired with a platter of fruit and some coffee or tea, these would make a gorgeous addition to a fancy brunch or would be great for a weekend morning with your sweetie.

Do you think if I had offered these as a bribe during college my roommates would have surrendered the remote more willingly? 😉

mapleoatscones2

Maple Oat Scones
For the scones:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats, plus additional for sprinkling
  • 1 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 pound cold unsalted butter, diced
  • 1/4 cup cold buttermilk*
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 2 extra-large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 tablespoon milk or water, for egg wash

For the glaze:

  • 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Combine flours, oats, baking powder, sugar, and salt in a large bowl (with the paddle attachment of a stand mixer, if you have one).
  3. Blend (or cut in, if no stand mixer) in the cold butter with mixer at lowest speed until butter chunks are the size of peas.
  4. Combine the buttermilk, syrup, and eggs, and add all at once to the bowl. Combine just until incorporated.
  5. As the dough will be sticky, heavily flour a surface and turn the dough out onto it. Roll or pat out (I patted) the dough until it is 3/4-1 inch tall. Lumps of butter are ok to be in the dough. Cut out 7 to 9 scones, using whatever biscuit cutter you have handy or think is cute! My heart was about 3 1/2 inches across and I got nine, but a plain 3 inch round biscuit cutter should work just fine as well.
  6. Leaving an inch of space between each scone, place on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper. Use a pastry brush to egg wash the biscuits, and bake for 20-25 minutes. Tops should be golden.
  7. Meanwhile, use a little whisk or fork to beat the glaze ingredients together. After the scones have cooled for at least five minutes, drip a tablespoon of glaze onto each scone. Garnish with a sprinkling of dry oats!

*as I had no buttermilk on hand, I used the old lemon juice combined with milk trick to make faux buttermilk. I just squeezed a half tablespoon worth of lemon juice into a 1/4 cup measuring cup, filled the rest with regular milk, and let it sit for five minutes before I incorporated it.

10 thoughts on “Ina Garten’s Maple Oat Scones

  1. Ina Garten’s my TV mum, she seems so loving and caring and I bet she gives nice hugs too. These look lovely, I’d happily eat them all day without even feeling guilty.

Leave a Reply

