Blueberry-Apple Salsa… And a New Series!

blueberrysalsa5

Who loves work perks?

Due to the nature of my work, I end up coming home often with free food items…sometimes unexpectedly awesome (jalepeno mustard? Yes please!), sometimes unexpectedly not so awesome (I’ve tried some nasty tasting energy bars), and sometimes just regular ol’ awesome. The two cartons of perfect blueberries I brought home today are clearly an example of the latter!

So yes, I am aware that it is the middle of winter and fresh blueberries are so totally not in season and definitely nowhere near the forefront of your mind… But I am not one to make waste when something is given to me freely! Bookmark this guy for when you happen to have a box of blueberries in your hot little hands!

Before I wax poetic about the loveliness that is fruit salsa, I would like to take the opportunity to introduce my first ‘series!’ To give myself a challenge and some loose guidelines for posting, I will aim to post three times a week: ‘Munchie Monday’ will revolve around healthy fare ideal for snacking/small meals. ‘Whatever Wednesday’ is just what it sounds like: whatever I feel like making and posting about. ‘Fancy Friday’ will be indulgent and (hopefully!) pretty, probably a dessert.

I hope that excites you just a fraction of how it excites me! I’m a checklist girl, and I like making goals and guidelines for myself. Three times a week compared to my sporadic postings thus far will be a challenge!

And, for my first ever Munchie Monday, I bring you…

blueberrysalsa6

Blueberry-apple Salsa

2 cups fresh blueberries
1 Golden Delicious apple, peeled, cored, and diced
5 green onions, chopped tiny
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1/2 jalepeno, seeded and diced
Hearty dash of salt
Dash of pepper
Scant tablespoon sugar
Juice of three limes

Combine all ingredients, cover, and refrigerate for at least one hour (ideally more) to allow the flavors to blend and the fruit to release their liquids.

This combo was super fresh tasting and was wonderful for scooping up with chips! Stay tuned on Wednesday for what I smeared this goodness on as a meal…

blueberrysalsa4

2 thoughts on “Blueberry-Apple Salsa… And a New Series!

  1. GOOD FOR YOU!! That’s so inspiring that you’ve come up with ways to blog more–and still be excited about it! I’m in love with your ideas, and I can’t wait to read more. You go girl! :]

    (P.S. Foodgawker just might accept your middle photo if you crop it!)

  2. Pingback: Open-faced blueberry, apple, and goat cheese quesadillas | mrswebbinthekitchen

Leave a Reply

