Carrot & Pineapple Cake for Dad

creamcheesecakedad2Hello blogging world!

Just checking in to say that Mrs. Webb is still indeed in the kitchen! (she’s just not been at the computer or behind her camera in a while)

Maybe you recall last year, if you’ve been with me for a while, when I made and sent my Dad carrot cake cookies in the mail. This year, I also was not able to see my Dad for his birthday, as he and my Mom were on a one-month road trip around the United States. Lucky them! However, as soon as they returned and I had an excuse to visit, I busted out my cake pans, grabbed a pound of carrots and a heap of cream cheese, and created my Dad’s favorite treat in honor of his missed birthday.

creamcheesecakedadI used an Ina Garten recipe, which called for a whole pound of carrots and had the interesting addition of diced pineapple. It resulted in very moist and flavorful cake that was still very toothy due to the cup each of walnuts and raisins inside. My Dad swore that this was the best carrot cake he’d ever had!

I envisioned a cake completely covered in rosettes (great how-to video here!), but as I ran out of frosting, I had to improvise a bit. Before I added the mini pearl candies around the border, the cake looked rather off-balance and top-heavy, but the border seemed to do the trick. These photos make it a little bit difficult to see, but I also added clusters of pearl candies on some of the rosette centers and sprinkled crystal sugar for extra sparkle. Don’t tell my Dad, but that gingerbread square that Happy Birthday was written on? That may or may not have been left over from a ginger bread house that never came to be back when my friend Amy and I got together in December! This cake was made in April, but still… it’s amazing how long gingerbread lasts!

I highly recommend making this carrot cake next time someone you love in your life requires a carrot cake. As for me, this may be the last recipe I ever need to try!

Check out the recipe here!

creamcheesecakedad3PS- Click here to see what I made for Mom this year! I didn’t get out my camera in time, but I snapped an instagram shot! It’s a tribute to her favorite childhood dessert, the Hostess Snoball!

3 thoughts on “Carrot & Pineapple Cake for Dad

  1. AHHH!! You found a use for the gingerbread!! I was wondering how you knew it was still edible that many months later… 😉 And your piping work is SO gorgeous! Maybe the next time we get together, you can teach me a few tips. (And I’ll photograph the whole thing and post it on my blog with credit to you!)

    • Haha YES I’m glad it was used for something!! (aside from feeding my sweet tooth… guilty!) Thank you! Definitely would be glad to give you a few pointers! But my first pointer would be to just buy a few different tips and play around with them, be fearless! (but the photo sesh sounds super fun too!)

      • Oops, I just saw you replied… I’m so behind on responding, but better late than never! I’ll get around to learning how to decorate someday. Or maybe I can come visit you for a one-on-one study session? 😉

Leave a Reply

